Big Jackson Public Schools



BOARD OF EDUCATION REGULAR MEETING MINUTES

April 8, 2025 7:00 P.M.

Unofficial

Members present: Michelle Ruelle, Andy Cook, Sami Jackson, Ross Fulton, Laura Johnson

Visitors present: Ron Veldman, Hillary Cobb, Jacalyn Carter

- I. CALL TO ORDER by President Ruelle at 7:00 P.M.
- II. PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE was recited.

III. APPROVAL OF AGENDA

Motion by Johnson, supported by Fulton to approve the agenda. 5 Yes 0 No Motion carried.

IV. APPROVAL OF MINUTES

Motion by Johnson, supported by Cook to approve, March 11, 2025 regular meeting minutes as presented. 5 Yes 0 No Motion carried

Motion carried.

V. LEADERSHIP REPORT

- a. Portable Bids
- b. Board Policies
- c. Newaygo School of Choice Plan 25-26
- d. ISD Elections

VI. PUBLIC PARTICIPATION

Hillary Cobb: questions about NCRESA, Calendar year 25-26 Jacalyn Carter: questions regarding school of choice.

VII. BOARD COMMUNICATION

Recommendations for bids

VIII. CONSENT AGENDA ITEMS

a. Motion by Johnson, supported by Cook to approve payment of checks and payroll as presented.
5 Yes
0 No
Motion carried.

IX. ACTION ITEMS

a. Motion by Johnson, supported by Fulton to accept the bid nomination given by Jacalyn Carter as presented.

5 Yes 0 No

Motion carried.

b. Motion by Jackson, supported by Johnson to approve the use of Thrun Law Firm to update School

Board Policies as presented by Ron Veldman. 5 Yes 0 No Motion carried.

c. Motion presented by Johnson, supported by Cook to approve the Newaygo County School of Choice Plan for 2025-2026 school year.
5 Yes
0 No
Motion carried.

X. ADJOURNMENT

Motion made by Johnson, supported by Cook to adjourn the meeting at 7:43 P.M. 5 Yes 0 No Motion carried.

Michelle Ruelle, President

Sami Jackson, Secretary